College Names Researchers of the Year

Stefan Balaz (top, left) and Amit Pai were named ACPHS Researchers of the Year at the school's Fourth Annual Research Forum. Described as a "celebration of research," the event features a diverse range of research presentations from faculty across the College.

The Researcher of the Year award was created last year to recognize the efforts and commitment of an ACPHS faculty member(s) in advancing knowledge in his or her area of scholarship and inspiring continued research excellence at ACPHS.

Dr. Balaz, Ph.D., and Dr. Pai, Pharm.D., were selected for this year's award based upon a mathematical formula that evaluated levels of funding and publications over the past 12 months.

In addition to highlighting current faculty research projects, the Forum also serves as a platform for undergraduate and graduate students to learn about the variety of research taking place at ACPHS. It is also an opportunity for students interested in research to identify potential faculty mentors.

This year's event also included a presentation from the ACPHS student chapter of the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists (AAPS). The student speakers discussed the group's recent and future activities which include "brown bag" lunches with research faculty and participation in regional AAPS events.

In total, more than 30 oral and poster presentations were featured at this year's Forum, spanning areas that included infectious disease, oncology, social norms, and neutraceuticals.